The House of Government - A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Author(s): Yuri Slezkine

History

The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the chilling true story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Soviet leaders and their families lived until hundreds of these Bolshevik true believers were led, one by one, to prison or to their deaths in Stalin's purges. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews with survivors, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, this epic story weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

$45.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
2

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780691192727
  • : Princeton University Press
  • : Princeton University Press
  • : April 2019
  • : 1.5 Centimeters X 15 Centimeters X 25 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 947.0840922
  • : 1128
  • : Yuri Slezkine