The Shooting Party

Author(s): A.P. Chekhov


Anton Chekhov's only full-length novel, this "Penguin Classics" edition of "The Shooting Party" is translated and edited by Ronald Wilks, with an introduction by John Sutherland. "The Shooting Party" centres on Olga, the pretty young daughter of a drunken forester on a country estate, and her fateful relationships with the men in her life. Adored by Urbenin, the estate manager, whom she marries to escape the poverty of her home, she is also desired by the dissolute Count Karneyev and by Zinovyev, a magistrate, who knows the secret misery of her marriage. When an attempt is made on Olga's life in the woods, it seems impossible to discover the perpetrator in an impenetrable web of lust, deceit, loathing and double-dealing. One of Chekhov's earliest experiments in fiction combines the classic elements of a gripping mystery with a short story of corruption, concealed love and fatal jealousy. Ronald Wilks' brilliant new translation of this work is the first in over seventy years. It brilliantly captures the immediacy of the dialogue that Chekhov was later to develop into his great dramas. This edition also includes an introduction by John Sutherland, suggestions for further reading and explanatory notes. Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) was born in Taganrog, a port on the sea of Azov. In 1879 he travelled to Moscow, where he entered the medical faculty of the university, graduating in 1884. During his university years, he supported his family by contributing humorous stories and sketches to magazines. He published his first volume of stories, "Motley Tales", in 1886, and a year later his second volume "In the Twilight", for which he received the Pushkin Prize. Today his plays, including "Uncle Vanya", "The Seagull", and "The Cherry Orchard" are recognised as masterpieces the world over. If you enjoyed "The Shooting Party", you might like Chekhov's "Plays", also available in "Penguin Classics".


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) was a Russian physician and writer of short stories and plays, including the masterpieces: 'Uncle Vanya', 'The Seagull', and 'The Cherry Orchard'. Ronald Wilks has translated many Russian works of literature including, for Penguin, those of Gorky, Sologub, Tolstoy, and Pushkin. He is the translator of our three volumes of Chekhov's short stories. John Sutherland teaches English at University College London and at Caltech. He is the author of several volumes of literary puzzles, including Was Heathcliffe a Murderer? His Life of Stephen Spender will be published in May 2004.

General Fields

  • : 9780140448986
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : 0.183
  • : May 2004
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 14mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : A.P. Chekhov
  • : Paperback
  • : 2004
  • : English
  • : 891.733
  • : 240