The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

Author(s): Geoffrey Chaucer

Classics

In the tradition of Seamus Heaney's Beowulf and Marie Borroff's Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher's The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively and readable translation of the most famous work of England's premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer's rhyme and metre and articulating his poetic voice, Fisher makes the tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Renowned for its astute character portraits, timeless themes, realistic representations of fourteenth-century English life and sheer energy of storytelling, The Canterbury Tales should be available to everyone, in all the richness of its meaning and metre. Choosing fourteen tales that range from the high style of courtly romance to raunchy ramblings and examples of religious zeal gone astray, Fisher does justice to Chaucer's masterpiece in a way sure to attract a new audience of modern readers.

$26.95(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Sheila Fisher is an English professor and associate academic dean at Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut.

General Fields

  • : 9780393341782
  • : WW Norton & Co
  • : WW Norton & Co
  • : March 2012
  • : 210mm X 140mm X 25mm
  • : United States
  • : June 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Geoffrey Chaucer
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 821.1
  • : 800