Rites of Passage

Author(s): William Golding; Robert McCrum (Introduction by)


With an introduction by Robert McCrumThe first volume of William Golding's Sea Trilogy.Sailing to Australia in the early years of the nineteenth century, Edmund Talbot keeps a journal to amuse his godfather back in England. Full of wit and disdain, he records the mounting tensions on the ancient, sinking warship where officers, sailors, soldiers and emigrants jostle in the cramped spaces below decks. Then a single passenger, the obsequious Reverend Colley, attracts the animosity of the sailors, and in the seclusion of the fo'castle something happens to bring him into a 'hell of degradation', where shame is a force deadlier than the sea itself.'The work of a master at the full stretch of his age and wisdom - necessary, provoking, urgent, rich, complex and rare.' The Times 'An extraordinary novel.' Observer 'Golding's best and most accessible story since Lord of the Flies .' Melvyn Bragg


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The classic novel from Golding's Sea Trilogy, now with a beautiful new cover.

Winner of Man Booker Prize for Fiction 1980

William Golding was born in Cornwall in 1911 and was educated at Marlborough Grammar School and at Brasenose College, Oxford. Before he became a schoolmaster he was an actor, a lecturer, a small-boat sailor and a musician. His first novel, Lord of the Flies, was published in 1954. He won the Booker Prize for his novel Rites of Passage in 1980, and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1983. He was knighted in 1988. He died at his home in the summer of 1993.

General Fields

  • : 9780571298549
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : November 2013
  • : 198mm X 126mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : William Golding; Robert McCrum (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : Main
  • : English
  • : 823.9/14
  • : 320