Author(s): John Conington (Editor); Philip R. Hardie (Introduction by); Anne Rogerson (Introduction by)


John Conington's three-volume edition of The Works of Virgil, begun in 1852, has long been unavailable except in rare second hand sets. The whole work is now being reissued in six affordable paperbacks, with new introductions setting the commentary in its context. Well into the twentieth century Conington's Virgil remained the sine qua non for school and undergraduate students and their teachers. Conington's commentary is remarkably close and uncompromising in its engagement with the detail of Virgil's Latin, as well as its literary sensitivity; it still has much to offer the modern reader.

This six-volume set includes Conington's Virgil: Eclogues, Georgics, Aeneid I-II, Aeneid III-VI, Aeneid VII-IX, and Aeneid X-XII . Each volume is prefaced by a general introduction to the work of John Conington by Philip Hardie, who also supplies a critical bibliography of Conington's work.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781904675235
  • : Bristol Phoenix Press
  • : December 2007
  • : 2 Centimeters X 13.7 Centimeters X 21.6 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 873.01
  • : 278
  • : John Conington (Editor); Philip R. Hardie (Introduction by); Anne Rogerson (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback