The Minnow

Author(s): Diana Sweeney

Childrens

Winner of the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing, 2013.
Shortlisted, The Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year for Older Readers, 2015.


Tom survived a devastating flood that claimed the lives of her sister and parents. Now she lives with Bill in his old shed by the lake. But it's time to move out. Tom is pregnant with Bill's baby.


Jonah lets her move in with him. Mrs Peck gives her the Fishmaster Super Series tackle box. Nana is full of gentle good advice and useful sayings.


And in her longing for what is lost, Tom talks to fish: Oscar the carp in the pet shop, little Sarah catfish who might be her sister, an unhelpful turtle in a tank at the maternity ward. And the minnow.


The Minnowis a moving and powerful coming-of-age story with a whimsical element that belies the heartbreaking truth of grief and loss. Tom is a character you will never forget.


Diana Sweeneyis a university lecturer and fashion model. She was born in Auckland, and moved to Sydney at the age of twelve. She now lives in northern New South Wales. The Minnowis her first novel.


Book club and teaching notes are available from the Text Publishing website. 


'Quietly powerful and compelling. A tender, lyrical book about love, loss and starting over.' Meg Rosoff.


'Diana Sweeney gives Tom a believable voice: innocent, headstrong, anxious but determined...this strong debut will resonate with young people and adults alike.' Books+Publishing


'The Minnowhas all the breath-holding intensity and aching beauty of swimming underwater.' Romy Ash


'This is an extraordinary, original, rich and surprising novel...Tom is an unforgettable character.' Magpies


'Sweeney's first novel is a powerful touchstone of longing and melancholy.' STARRED Review, Publishers Weekly

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

* Review coverage in newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, Age, Australian, Courier Mail, Adelaide Advertiser and NZ Herald * Review coverage in YA / education publications such as Magpies, Viewpoint and English in Australia * Review coverage in glossy magazines such as Cosmopolitan, Cleo and Dolly * Review coverage in magazines such as Australian Book Review, NZ Listener and North & South * Profile expected in newspaper such as the Courier Mail and Byron Shire Echo * Online review coverage on sites such as Kids Book Review, Hypable, Birdee and Bookmooch * Online review coverage on blogs such as ANZ LitLovers, ALPHA Reader, inkcrush and The Notebook Sisters * Limited number of bound proofs available to the trade * Launch at the annual CBCA conference in Canberra on 17 May 2014. * Advertisements in literary and current affairs publications such as ABR, the Big Issue, Good Reading and on their associated websites * Advertisements in YA / education publications such as Viewpoint and Magpies - Text has booked the cover of the 28 May issue of Viewpoint * Significant budget for bookseller catalogues * Advertisements in bookseller newsletters * Full-colour posters and bookmarks available to the trade * Animated book trailer to be available on Text's website, YouTube, the author website and on bookseller sites * Teaching notes tailored to the Australian Curriculum available for download at textpublishing.com.au/resources * Book club notes available on Text's website * Promotions through Text's book club newsletter * Promotions through Text's education newsletter, including the chance to win a class set

Winner of The Text Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing 2013.

'Quietly powerful and compelling. A tender, lyrical book about love, loss and starting over.' -- Meg Rosoff 'Diana Sweeney gives Tom a believable voice: innocent, headstrong, anxious but determined...this strong debut will resonate with young people and adults alike.' Books+Publishing 'The Minnow has all the breath-holding intensity and aching beauty of swimming underwater.' -- Romy Ash 'This is an extraordinary, original, rich and surprising novel...Tom is an unforgettable character.' Magpies 'The Minnow is a fanciful and poignant coming of age story about Tom, a pregnant teenager learning to cope with unimaginable loss. Her story will stay with you long after you've finished the book. Perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Melina Marchetta.' -- Booktopia 'The Minnow is one of the most unique novels that I have had the pleasure of reading...a wonderful story of love, loss, becoming an adult, and learning to live.' -- Books for a Delicate Eternity 'I love this book.' -- Notebook Sisters 'An intriguing tale.' Weekend Herald 'Unusual but immensely readable...An unconventional story about resilience, friends, pregnancy and family. Verdict: Winner.' Herald Sun 'The writing in this debut novel has a thoughtful authenticity and the loose ends are resolved with restraint. It is a memorable and beguiling cautionary tale for mature teens and older readers.' Australian 'Beautiful writing. Breathtaking imagery. Questions of reality...[an] utterly incredible debut. It made me want to be a better writer.' -- The Loony Teen Writer 'By now nobody should be surprised that the Text Prize is producing some of Australia's finest young adult and children's writing. But here I am, gobsmacked yet again that this Prize has unearthed such an original, tender and downright unique work as 'The Minnow' from debut novelist Diana Sweeney. I can honestly say, with hand over my heart, that I've never read anything quite like this disarming and haunting novel.' -- Alpha Reader 'Where most grief feels like you are drowning underwater, this lyrical debut novel approaches loss in a wonderfully strange way. Sweeney gives the protagonist an innocent yet determined and unforgettable voice in this unique coming-of-age book. Prepare to have tears running down your cheeks like little tadpoles.' Yen Magazine '[The Minnow] is one of those special treats which works best if the reader has no preconceptions on what is in store for them...I thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel...the full story is slowly and teasingly revealed.' Otago Daily Times 'A sweet, lyrical tale of a teen's recovery after disaster and the far-from-perfect community that support her. Magical.' NZ Listener 'The Minnow is a beautifully told story about a girl having to come to terms with the loss of one family and the gain of another. I have never read another book quite like it.' -- Fictional Thoughts 'It is haunting, it is sad, it is beautiful, and I love it. Buy two copies - one to keep, one to pass on to your friends.' BookBag 'A powerful touchstone of longing and melancholy...Sweeney expertly moves between memories and time periods, creating a patchwork narrative that pulls readers toward answers just below the surface.' STARRED Review, Publishers Weekly 'A promising and welcome debut.' Booklist 'Readers seeking melancholy beauty will find it here.' Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Diana Sweeney is a university lecturer and fashion model. She was born in Auckland, and moved to Sydney at the age of twelve. She now lives in northern New South Wales. The Minnow is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9781922182012
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : May 2014
  • : 198mm X 128mm
  • : Australia
  • : August 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Diana Sweeney
  • : Paperback
  • : 415
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 256