The Landmark Julius Caesar - The Complete Works - Gallic War, Civil War, Alexandrian War, African War, and Spanish War

Author(s): Kurt A. Raaflaub (Editor); Robert B. Strassler (Series edited by)

Ancient History

Between 58 and 50 B.C., Caesar led his army to twice invade Britain and conquer most of the land that is now France, Belgium, and Switzerland. The Gallic Wars served two purposes- to offer a record of Caesar?s travels and insights into his military strategies, and to present the Roman public with a portrait of Caesar as a compelling, effective leader-which would be a key part of his public image as he fought off his rivals for control of the empire. Caesar chronicles his struggle to rule in The Civil Wars, from his crossing of the Rubicon in 49 B.C. through the death of his chief rival, Pompey, and the ongoing efforts of Pompey?s heirs and followers to remove Caesar from power. As with the other volumes in the Landmark series, this edition-edited by Robert B. Strassler and Kurt A. Raaflaub-supplements the text with detailed maps, images, and annotations to place the work in historical and political context. And with stunning endpapers and color illustrations, this beautifully produced, large-format paperback makes a terrific gift for history buffs and fans of the classics.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780307455444
  • : Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
  • : Knopf
  • : 1.35579
  • : February 2019
  • : 1.406 Inches X 7.375 Inches X 9.25 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Kurt A. Raaflaub (Editor); Robert B. Strassler (Series edited by)
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 896